Territory register

British English-language names and descriptive terms for political, administrative and geographical entities that aren’t recognised as countries by the UK

Territory Name Official-Name Start-Date End-Date
The territory's ISO 3166-1 alpha3 code. Unique codes have been created for territories that don't have an existing ISO code. The commonly-used name of a record. The official or technical name of a record. The date a record first became relevant to a register. The date a record stopped being applicable.
AE-AJ Ajman Emirate of Ajman
AE-AZ Abu Dhabi Emirate of Abu Dhabi
AE-DU Dubai Emirate of Dubai
AE-FU Fujairah Emirate of Fujairah
AE-RK Ras al-Khaimah Emirate of Ras al-Khaimah
AE-SH Sharjah Emirate of Sharjah
AE-UQ Umm al-Quwain Emirate of Umm al-Quwain
AI Anguilla Anguilla
AQ Antarctica Antarctica
AS American Samoa Territory of American Samoa
AW Aruba Aruba
AX Åland Islands Åland Islands
BAT British Antarctic Territory British Antarctic Territory
BL Saint Barthélemy Saint Barthélemy
BM Bermuda Bermuda
BQ-BO Bonaire Bonaire
BQ-SA Saba Saba
BQ-SE Sint Eustatius Sint Eustatius
BV Bouvet Island Bouvet Island
CC Cocos (Keeling) Islands Territory of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands
CK Cook Islands Cook Islands
CW Curaçao Country of Curaçao
CX Christmas Island Territory of Christmas Island
EH Western Sahara Western Sahara
ES-CE Ceuta Ceuta
ES-ML Melilla Melilla
FK Falkland Islands Falkland Islands
FO Faroe Islands Faroe Islands
GF French Guiana French Guiana
GG Guernsey Bailiwick of Guernsey
GI Gibraltar Gibraltar
GL Greenland Greenland
GP Guadeloupe Guadeloupe
GS South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
GU Guam Territory of Guam
HK Hong Kong Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
HM Heard Island and McDonald Islands Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands
IM Isle of Man Isle of Man
IO British Indian Ocean Territory The British Indian Ocean Territory
JE Jersey Bailiwick of Jersey
KY Cayman Islands Cayman Islands
MF Saint-Martin (French part) Collectivity of Saint Martin
MO Macao Macao Special Administrative Region
MP Northern Mariana Islands Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
MQ Martinique Martinique
MS Montserrat Montserrat
NC New Caledonia New Caledonia
NF Norfolk Island Territory of Norfolk Island
NU Niue Niue
PF French Polynesia French Polynesia
PM Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Pierre and Miquelon
PN Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
PR Puerto Rico Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
PS Occupied Palestinian Territories The Occupied Palestinian Territories
RE Réunion Réunion
SH-AC Ascension Ascension Island
SH-HL Saint Helena Saint Helena
SH-TA Tristan da Cunha Tristan da Cunha
SJ Svalbard and Jan Mayen Svalbard and Jan Mayen
SX Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Sint Maarten
TC Turks and Caicos Islands Turks and Caicos Islands
TF French Southern Territories French Southern Territories
TK Tokelau Tokelau
TW Taiwan Taiwan
UM-67 Johnston Atoll Johnston Atoll
UM-71 Midway Islands Midway Islands
UM-76 Navassa Island Navassa Island
UM-79 Wake Island Wake Island
UM-81 Baker Island Baker Island
UM-84 Howland Island Howland Island
UM-86 Jarvis Island Jarvis Island
UM-89 Kingman Reef Kingman Reef
UM-95 Palmyra Atoll Palmyra Atoll
VG British Virgin Islands The Virgin Islands
VI United States Virgin Islands Virgin Islands of the United States
WF Wallis and Futuna Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands
XQZ Akrotiri Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia
XXD Dhekelia Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia
YT Mayotte Mayotte